Educational Cooperation Educational Cooperation

Educational Cooperation

Cooperation in the field of Education between India and Thailand

A MoU on Cooperation in the field of Education was signed in 2005. To implement this MOU, Joint Working Group was established. The first meeting of the JWG was held in Bangkok in 2007 and the second series in New Delhi in January 2016. The date and agenda of the third meeting, which will be hosted by Thailand, are being finalized. ICCR Chair of Sanskrit has been established at Silpakorn University according to the MOU between ICCR and Silpakorn University which was signed on 19 June 2013. In addition to Sanskrit Chair, ICCR and Thammasat University signed an MOU on the establishment of the ICCR Hindi Chair at PridiBanomyong International College, Thammasat University in 2013 as well as MOU on the establishment of Chair of Indian Studies with Chiang Mai University in 2018.

Currently, there are 5 India Studies Centre in Thailand at Chulalongkorn University, Silpakorn University, Thammasat University, Mahidol University and Chiang Mai University. In addition to India Studies Centre, 9 India Corners have been set up in Thai universities i.e. PridiBanomyong International College of Thammasat University, Chulalongkorn University, Mae Fah Luang University, Surat Thani Rajabhat University, Prince of Songkla University, Chiang Mai University, UbonRatchathani University, Srinakharinwirot University and also in National Library of Thailand.  

For the year 2022-23, India offers 71 scholarships under various schemes (ITEC – 40, ICCR Scholarships – 29 & Hindi Scholarship – 2) to Thailand. Apart from these annual scholarships, GOI offers 1,000 slots for ASEAN students (100 for each country) under Doctoral Fellowship in India for ASEAN (DIA) Programme for Ph.D. study at IITs. Also, 10 fellowships provided to Thai scientists and researchers for doing research in Science and Technology at premier institutes in India under India Science and Research Fellowship (ISRF) Programme. In addition, Nalanda University offers slots for students from Thailand for study in post graduate programmes under ASEAN Scholarship Scheme.   

Ministry of Culture, Government of India provides Grant-in-aid to Indo-Foreign Friendship Cultural Societies functioning in Bangkok for their activities on annual basis. For the year 2022-23, 7 societies, namely, India Studies Center of Chulalongkorn University, Sanskrit Studies Center of Silpakorn University, Bharat Studies Center of Mahidol University, India Studies Centre of Thammasat University, Thai Bharat Cultural Lodge, India Studies Group of UbonRatchathani University and Indian Studies Center of Chiang Mai University have submitted their proposals for the grants.

Ministry of Education, Government of India provides for secondment of professors for every semester to the Asian Institute of Technology (AIT) for a period of 16 weeks in selected area of specialization. For August 2022, 4 professors have been deputed and 2 professors are being deputed for January 2023.

October 2022