Taxation in India Taxation in India

Taxation in India


India has a well-developed tax structure with clearly demarcated authority between Central and State Governments and local bodies. Central Government levies taxes on income (except tax on agricultural income, which the State Governments can levy), customs duties, central excise, and service tax. Value-added tax (VAT), stamp duty, state excise, land revenue, and profession tax are levied by the State Governments. Local bodies are empowered to levy a tax on properties, octroi, and utilities like water supply, drainage, etc. The Indian taxation system has undergone tremendous reforms during the last decade. The tax rates have been rationalized and tax laws have been simplified resulting in better compliance, ease of tax payment and better enforcement. The process of rationalization of tax administration is ongoing in India. For further information,bullet   please follow the link bullet

For further general guidance on Indian tax system please see the following resources;

Taxation of Individuals bullet

Taxation of Partnerships  bullet

Customs Duties bullet

Wealth Tax  bullet

Taxation of Corporates bullet

Taxation of Agents  bullet

Excise Duty  bullet

Taxation of other forms of business entities  bullet

Taxation of Representative offices  bullet

Service Tax  bullet

TDS,TCS,TAN  bullet

Value Added Tax (VAT)  bullet

Direct Tax Code  bullet